2012-04-21

Announcing the next #BreadChat: Wednesday, May 16


New for 2012, #BreadChat is a Twitter discussion hour for bakers of yeasted, artisanal breads.

Next #BreadChat:
Wednesday, May 16, 2:00-3:00 pm Chicago time (UTC/GMT -5 hours). That's 20:00 London time, 21:00 in Berlin, 22:00 in Helsinki. In Sydney, 5:00 Thursday, May 17; in Auckland, 7:00 Thursday. We're delighted to welcome back Eric Duhamel (@EricFrenchBaker), Master Baker at Daylesford Organic, as the co-host of the May #BreadChat.

What are we chatting about?
During #BreadChat, @AmateurBakers lead the discussion through a handful of questions related to yeasted bread baking. During the March #BreadChat, we discussed various techniques for developing the gluten network in bread dough. At the April #BreadChat, we discussed bread ingredients that tend to interfere with the development of the gluten network.

In May, @EricFrenchBaker will be answering questions about the road from amateur baker to professional. Many thanks to @melbise for suggesting this topic. Some questions were submitted in advance of #BreadChat, and we'll start with those
  • Question 1: @21_urbhousewife would like to know, what are some must-have courses/skills for home bakers looking to turn pro? #BreadChat
  • Question 2: @melbise asks, what's a good way to approach a baker for work, if you have only done home baking in the past? #BreadChat
Then we'll open the discussion to questions asked live.

How to participate: 
If you haven't done so already, create a Twitter account. Once you're logged into Twitter, click on #Discover, and then search for the hashtag #BreadChat. A hashtag is any word with a hash (#) in front of it. Hashtags make Twitter discussions easy to find and follow.

To suggest a question to include in the discussion, please email it to breadchat [at] amateurbakers [dot] org.

#BreadChat transcripts are posted on The Fresh Loaf: April 2012March 2012February 2012.

Many thanks to The Fresh Loaf for hosting our transcripts, and to our friends at #SeedChat for inspiring this new project!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...